top of page

Review Of 'My Darling Arrow' By Saffron A Kent


I was eagerly waiting for the next book by Saffron A.Kent and considering she is one of my fav author, I had high expectations, especially after reading unrequited (that continues to my top my fav reads). This book did meet my expectations and overall I did enjoy it, but it felt somehow familiar and expected, and I didn't end it with a 'wow that was unexpected and mind-blowing' but more like "that's super sweet and romantic'. Though it did leave me with a wide smile on my face with my mind thrusting Arrow in my dirtiest fantasies, I really wished to have felt the former. Since reading unrequited, and to an extent bad boy blues and gods and monsters, I have been waiting for thid author to blow my mind away, but somehow though the other books have worked and have won my heart, they haven't given the angst filled high that I seek from her books.


This book has everything working in its favour - a hero seeking perfection without embracing his true, flawed self, Salem seeing him for who and how is he and loving him from far and all the obstacles between the two starting with his soccer career, anger management issues, jealous sister and St. Mary (a reform school for rebels). It makes for an entertaining read and a very believable and sincere love story. Salem was easily relatable and I absolutely adored and even respected her 'doomed' love for Arrow. She is easy to love and I rooted for her throughout and completely understood why she chose to be his 'rebound' girl. Coming to Arrow, he was a very interesting character. I loved reading from his perspective and hoped to get more of his chapters. I really liked his character arc and despite him grating on my nerves with his attitude towards Salem, towards the end I could forgive him and understand him better. The best part of this book was Salem's undying love for Arrow and how she makes him a better person in his own eyes. Their chemistry was off for the charts HOT and that's expected of Saffron's books.


What didn't work for me is how Salem sounded. She is eighteenth but going by her inner monologues and the way she is written, she comes off sounding younger like she is around fifteen. I can see maturity in her 'actions' for sure and not the way she sounds. Also, the 'dirty talk' at certain parts sounds rather silly and kind of distracts me from enjoying the high of the sex scene. Again, this might be specific to me, but they don't do it for me. (might still work for others). I had a similar feeling with her earlier book too.


Overall I absolutely loved reading this book and can't wait for the books of her friends. And yeah, the epilogue is absolutely perfect!!


4 Fun Stars

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page