top of page

Review Of Am I The Only One


This was a superb read and it delivered everything I sought and expected when I started with the book. It was a crazy read from start to finish with many twists and turns that had my head spinning, making it one of the most sinfully delicious book of the year. There is a lot I wish to say but considering I have to keep this review spoiler free, I'll keep it short and won't address the protagonists with their names directly. Set in DC, against a political background, this book offers a very good insight into life of politicians and what goes on behind the closed doors. Such a setting actually serves the plot and gives one of the protagonists (Let's call her A for now) reasons for her to go down 'THAT' dark and sinister route. On the other hand we have our other protagonist (Let's call her B) who is of high morals and principles, hard working but in desperate need of money owing to her tuition fee and her family situation. So when A seeks help of B to do her deed in return of money, the actual game begins. I will admit that I saw the major twist coming but if definitely didn't take the fun of reading it. Initially I thought that it would either of the two routes, and though it did take one of them, I was surprise rather shocked with few of the events that transpired towards the end. And the beauty of this book doesn't vest only upon the story or the shocking twists but with the characters and their motivations. A and B totally steal the show, and it's rewarding to read chapters from their alternate POVs and actually look in their minds. We can actually see their downward spiral and what pushes them to go to such extremes. Both of the characters start off as being gentle, nice and strong but victims of circumstances beyond their control. Then as the story progresses, we see a huge SHIFT as both the characters slip into the dark confines of their own minds and do stuff there is no turn away from. This book doesn't bother with establishing a good and bad character, and that's where it strikes gold. It shows both the characters as flawed, yet strong and bold, the one who wouldn't hesitate to strike back when they are threatened. I didn't love either of them, neither could I hate either of them especially after THAT ending. My only problem that stopped me from giving me 5 stars is the ending. I don't have issues with WHAT happened but more on what followed after that. All the loop holes were tied together but then what? I'm not sure if it's purposefully left open as there is definitely more story to tell, maybe there is a sequel in plans? If there is, then this undoubtedly deserves 5 stars, if not, I would prefer a much cleaner ending. Going with 4.5 stars.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page