top of page

Review of Arson's Captive



I have always been a huge fan of VF Mason's books and I especially looked forward to reading Arson's story after reading Lachlan's prey. I ahd always found arson intriguing, especially his whole obsession with fire that seemed to gel so well with his personality. And I was super excited when I finally got the ARC of this book. And I must say - It definitely didn't disappoint. It was everything I thought it would be and though it was definitely satisfactory in that sense, it also made it 'predictable' and along the lines of her other books depicting the same gang. It was definitely intriguing and dark- just the way I loved it, but it was also missing that 'X' factor that made it unique- same pattern but still 'different'. I was impressed with the backstories - especially the whole 'divine community'. Arson's stunts were definitely intense and intriguing but it was the whole 'pastor' past and the way things ran in that community that was truly 'dark'. Just thinking about it scared me, and having to believe that such communities do exist that brainwash people and so such shit in name of god is unbearable. But the way it has been portrayed in this book through the eyes of Callista is beautifully disturbing. I'm truly in awe of the author for coming up with such realistic and tragic backstories, and thsi one definitely steals the cake. And each and every such backstories introduces us to a new 'female lead' who emerges stronger despite the pain and torture, making for a perfect girl for our 'serial killers' and Callista is no exception. And Arson's chemistry with her and his attraction towards her is also palpable and definitely HOT - Very similar to the embers that Arson so dearly loves and plays with. Arson was definitely the prime highlight of the book and not so surprisingly, despite his dark nature and torturous ways, I absolutely enjoyed reading about him. It was fun from start to finish. Overall I would rate it 4 fiery stars.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page