top of page

Review Of Different as Night and Day


This was a good conclusion to the father-son duet and I am really impressed with the author, especially on how she chose to tackle such a taboo story in a very realistic manner. I had my complaints with the first book - with regards to the pacing but this book improvised in the pacing but where earlier I had liked all characters, Holland got on my nerves on quite a few occasions. I loved Maguire even more in this book. I loved everything about him - about how patient, understanding, sweet and stubborn he was. His character growth this book was phenomenal and I was crushing hard on him the entire time and that's precisely why I was so miffed with Holland for the most part. I get her heistancy and fear, I really do BUT she kept giving mixed signals to this MAN who who was ready to move the sky and Earth for her and Evey time she made some progress and took few steps forward, she would walk a mile backward, believing that the universe was conspiring against her. For the taboo love SHE was giving into, she can't really blame the universe and make it a reason to keep him at bay. I really believed Maguire deserved someone better. Holland was just too confusing, irritating and snarky for me to like in this book. The story was also entertaining. Though I had a string hunch on how it would end I was really curious to see how and when it would lead to that point and I wasn't left disappointed on those grounds. A lot happens over the span of this book with new characters with quite a lot of potential being introduced and there is also the constant push and pull (mainly from Holland) between the two that though a little repetitive at parts, doesn't get tiring as ever scene between the two has something new to offer - be it then falling more in love or giving to their sexual desires or Holland lashing out at him or just breaking apart. I also loved the whole family-friends Dynamics with Elsie, Ned, Teagan, Jase and even Christine brings some new surprises with her. And the climax worked for this book despite being a little too convenient and contrived. But then again, they do say that when it comes to true love, universe does pull some strings afterall and this was the best example for the same. Overall, I would go with 4 sweet taboo stars ;)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page