top of page

Review of Distorted Love ( Dark Intentions # 1)


This was an interesting read. It was a different sort of story and something that took me by a pleasant surprise. Everything about this book was different - starting from the settings to the storyline to the characters. It is a taboo read of sorts and it managed to keep me at the edge of my seat with the new twists and turns it kept throwing my way. But was it perfect? Not so much but it was good nonetheless. What I liked - The unique story. The forbidden love that makes the story more compelling. I loved how both Ryken and his 'Barbie' - Saskia kept triyig to resist their emotions and feelings towards one another but couldn't. They ended up feeding their lust/ love and hated themselves more for it. I also liked the idea of why their love was tabboo ( owing to Ryken's business that he inherits from his dad) . It was more of his conscious decision and not something purely circumstantial. I also liked Saskia and her growth throughout the book. She grew a spine and learned to fight back despite starting out as shy and timid. What didn't work for me: Foremost- The whole 'business' of Ryken. It's something I didn't want the main protagonist to involve in - willingly and whole heartedly. I get that he is hands were tied and he wasn't left with a. better choice but he could always walk off and say allow - Quinn to take over. I understand that it's easier said than done but I really want to see his whole 'redemption' arc. The whole business was wrong on so many levels that it pained me to see Ryken involved in it. He was ready to go to any heights to save his sweetheart - Saskia but he didn't have the shred of compassion for those other wormen whom he 'collected' and that was very sad indeed. I wish he were a 'nicer' guy. As much as I liked Saskia, she also

annoyed me. The way she used Stiles ( though she was aware of how serious he was about her) and the way she was ready to return to Ryken despite knowing how he is and what he does for a living. She comes off nice and sweet, so how could she tolerate all this and still love him? Shouldn't such a love be marred with hatred?! I liked quite a few secondary characters like Robert and Stifles but I wish the author and spent more time on characterization, especially when it came to Livia's character. She plays an integral role in the story but I didn't quite understand her - her feelings, her ambitions and her relation with her sister. Few chapters from her POV could have really helped. It also took time for me to get used to the sharp scene transitions and the flow wasn't very good. Be it from scene to scene of the time jumps. I could feel the chemistry between Saskia and Ryken but if there were more scenes of the two interacting and actually getting to know one another, I could have enjoyed their story more. I also wanted to learn more about Cane and Quinn - They were also some pretty interesting characters. I also liked the way the book ended. That was an unexpected shocker. Overall this was a fun and interesting book and I do wish to read the sequel to know how it ends.

I will go with 4 stars :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page