top of page

Review of Secret Lucidity


Beautiful. So So beautiful. I loved this book soooo much. My heart feels so heavy and light at the same time. The feels this book gave is not something I can come compare to any other book. It's so intense and deep, gutting and wrecking me and yet that agony is so sweet. I am still reeling over the emotions this book has left me with and this book hangover will surely be lasting for weeks. This book is sad. Like really really sad. The tone it's been written in is perfect for the setting and the destruction that falls upon Cam and ruins her life into shreds. It's so beautifully and realistically depicted. The words moved me to tears and yet, is at there reading more and more letting it soak me. Kudos to the author for writing such a heart touching and heart breaking story with utmost sincerity. At the crux, it's a student-teacher taboo Romance but there is so much more to this book! It's a out tragedy and how a person can't really get over it. Time heals wounds but nothing can go back to how it was before. Tragedies can completely change a person, and even as life moves on for other people, the people who are stuff suffering the aftermath of the tragedies can't really fit in. Especially when we are talking about a seventeen year old girl in her senior year, it hits even harder, the effects even more profound. That's the situation Cam faces after losing her dad and it's when her coach/ teacher David Andrews offers a helping hand does she learn to breathe again. The pain and guilt binds them together and they irrevocably fall in love. The transition of their relation to love though a painful journey, is a joy to read. I loved their chemistry, and I also understand the roots of their love which made me truly connect with them. The ending is again heartbreaking, as it throws light on how cruel, harsh the reality can be as they get played by the hands of society and law that fails to recognise and see their love. Again, this book addresses reality for how it is and doesn't make everything Miraculously simple and easy. No it's difficult, tough and hurts a lot and that's just how it's shown. That's what I love the most about this book - the realism. This is a different kind of book by E.K Blair as I am more used to her dark books, but she has undoubtedly nailed this story to perfection. Five stars and more for it


Five tear shedding stars!!!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page