top of page

Review Of Gods and Monsters


This was one hell of a crazy book. Not sure how to start and where to end. Going by the blurb, we can't actually grasp the storyline and I think it works in the favot of the book. I, for one, was totally aback with the proceedings especially in the second half. I didn't know what to expect and the book started to throw one shock after the other. I am still confused about what to make of it. It was surprising, but I felt it wasn't too satisfying and yet if we look at the overall story, the morals it tried to convey and especially Abel's character, it made perfect sense. And it's very hard to write this review without giving away spoilers, but I will try. For starters, I loved the start. I loved Abel and Evie or his Pixie ( it definitely sounds good). I loved how their love starts, more like Insta love but it's so believable and so beautifully expressed and written that I couldn't help but fall in love with them as a couple and root for them throughout the book. The settings were every different and I liked the detour from the usual settings. The small town is very religious, orthodox and sees Abel as some sort of a monster since he is the son of couple who are actually first cousins.So right from the time he lands up in that town, he is treated as an outcast. Evie falls for him and despite the hardships and hiding from people, their love blossoms and she starts to rever his as a god. This story is multidimensional and so complex, addressing so many issues and that's the real beauty of it. It's about the passionate love that turns into a firm of obsession which doens't have any clear limits at all. Is such a strong love Healthy and how to even cope with it? and also it dives deeper into the concept who is an actual monster and why people even believe in God. This is again explored in the relation between the two and how they react to all the hardships that they had to endure. which is the right choice to make? Holding onto thr anger and telling fuck you to the world, and attaining their own form of revenge or learning to forgive to attaining a level of maturity and acceptance. Coming to the characters, I liked them both. I could connect with the love they shared but some of both their actions put me on edge. I didn't quite get Pixie's sudden outburst and the steps she took. It was too sudden and unplanned. Coming to Abel, he was a very passionate lover and quite a complex character. I knew where he was coming from and I loved just how much he loved his Pixie and I also understand where and how he messed up but I can't really condemn him and not like him for it. When love exceeds certain limits, it's bound to happen. Is it necessarily a bad thing? That's debatable. I would say no, but this story puts forward a different perspective. The ending was good but again not too satisfactory. I wanted more - a better closure maybe? But I loved how the whole book was written. Saffron is truly a gifted writer who creates magic with her words. And those sex scenes ( there are plenty ) are out of this world awesome and very enjoyable and creative. Kuods to her for such excellent writing.

4 addictive stars

GOODREADS LINK: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36295656-gods-monsters Gods & Monsters Website: http://www.saffronkent.com Gods & Monsters Pinterest board: https://www.pinterest.com/saffronkent/gods-monsters PURCHASE LINKS – 99c for a limited time US: http://amzn.to/2BChcGp UK: http://amzn.to/2ofe5wn CA: http://amzn.to/2EQRmQZ AU: http://amzn.to/2HwPAmn Free in Kindle Unlimited

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page