top of page

Review of The Ghostwriter


This is hands down the BEST book of Alessandra Torre that I have read and it's so different from her other books. Not just in terms of genre but even in the writing style. There was not doubt ever that Alessandra is a versatile writer but with this book she proves just how much versatile she can be and do complete justice to every genre she picks up and experiments with. It's truly remarkable and this time it's a contemporary fiction - her first in the genre that I've read and she nails it!!! Totally. I came even go ahead and call this a nail biting thriller. This has so many elements to it and such an emotional story at the core and depth of it all. ahhh. It's beautiful and I was really sobbing when I read the epilogue. Truly a masterpiece. Story was so deep, raw..it wrecked my heart into pieces and by the end of it, I was left to stitch it back together and I didn't know just how to do it.It had that much of an impact on me. The effect will last for many days to come and I don't think I can ever get over this story. On the surface level, the story is pretty simple. Helena Ross a best selling author decides to write her final book which is the story of her own life. The toughest story of her life and circumstances make her turn to her old rival to become the ghost writer for this particular book. That's the gist of the story but there is so much hidden layers and intricacies to it that only when we read it can we live the story by actually getting inside Helena's head. Even as we start the story, we know how it's going to end. It's made obvious right in the beginning that the ending is far cry from being a happy one and yet the ending is not tragic it's serene and peaceful. Made me feel a sense of relief though I was actually sobbing. Such an odd combination of emotions to experience. Then again, the story is written so smartly that despite knowing how it's all going to end we will never feel bored and we will be flipping page as fast as possible to learn more about Helen's tragedies and at the same time we will be compassionate towards her desire her icy demeanor and attitude which is very close to being called cold and eccentric. I haven't read a character like Helena's before. She is far from being normal and yet so strong, powerful and protective. It's hard to love her but at the end of the story no one can even dislike her. The main focus is on her as she is the story teller but Mark, Kate and Helena's husband Simone take centre stage and not to forget Bethany-her daughter. This is one heartwrenching, emotional draining, beautiful story of a writer, a mother and a wife. It also paints a realistic picture of a writer's mind and being a writer myself, I could totally relate to it. Five stars falls short in rating this masterpiece. Undoubtedly this is one of the best books of the year for me!!! Lucky to have gotten an ARC via netgalley.


FIVE PLUS STARS!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page