top of page

Review of The Unrequited


This book really tore me apart completely. I really can't put into words as to how much I loved it. I actually LIVED every single word in this book. It resonated with my heart and in so many ways I could see myself in Layla. This storyline was sooo close to my own feelings at one point of time. That's exactly why I could connect so well with the characters especially Layla. Her unrequited love is something I have lived and all her emotions, feelings, actions were completely justified at least in my eyes. That's also why it becomes hard for me to review this book in an unbiased way. It's too close home and as much as I try, I can't disconnect my own personal experiences from this story. I felt like I was just destined this story and at this exact point of time. The Story line is completely unique and just the type I love which brings out the beautiful flaws in people, their love and their actions leading to the heartbreaking consequences. Again, this is not something that everyone would understand, relate to or love but for me it was just perfect in ALL grounds. The writing is so smooth, lyrical and flawless. It's truly like poetry. I am in awe of the author for her exceptional writing skills.Its so beautiful and this is one of the books In which I wished to highlight every alternate paragraph. It's that GOOD. Coming to Layla and Thomas. Their love is tabboo on so many levels but it's also like those flames that gives them the much needed warmth and zeal to actually LIVE I loved their chemistry and especially Layla's untamed obsession with Thomas which quickly morphs into love. Though Thomas appeared very cold and rude, I could still through that facade and love him. He is a unique character on all grounds and that's exactly why he was so perfect for her. And their sex was out of this world awesome. It has this poetic touch to it in the way it's described but still it was one of the HOTTEST book that I have read. Thier passion could probably put the pages of the book on flame. Till the very last chapter, I had no idea about the ending. It could have gone in any possible direction but I loved the ending. It made it all the more perfect. The only drawback I found was the whole Emily-Dylan storyline. I understood the parallels Layla was drawing from their relationship and it was beautiful too but I wish their story also had a proper ending. I felt it was kind of left hanging..but maybe the author might have a separate book for them. I don't know..but I will surely hope for it. I would love to give this book a ten star rating . It's one of the BEST books that I have read this year and is definitely in the top three all-time-fav books for me. Loved it

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page