top of page

Review Of The Someday Girl by Julie Jhonson

Woooooooooow. I have no words, really!!! This story took me by such a surprise. Since the time I finished book one, I was dying to get my hands on the second book. I had a hunch about how the story would turn out t

o be, and I was right..kind off..but the ENDING left me spellbound and utterly speechless. Where do I even start?! I love love loved this book. What appealed the most to me was the writing. It was ENCHANTING and so very beautiful, truly magical. The author is gifted. There are so many lines I highlighted that I lost count. Love is always best expressed through words at least when it comes to romance books and THIS series is the best example for the same. The author did a fantastic job in this regard. To quote an example- one was when she discussed love and marriage and gave two completely different perspectives through Grayson an Wyatt's voices. In this book she completely outdid herself ( if that was even possible) .There was one particular scene which was so beautifully romantic that it brought tears and this time they were ACTUAL HAPPY TEARS. It is easier to cry for tragic stories but this was one book that I read which brought about such a strong yet happy emotion. Hats off to the author for that. I just have to mention that scene- The scene where Kat screams out loud to the night air on new year's eve that she loves Wyatt and he comes behind her, hears her say the golden words and tells, 'No need to scream, baby.'- that too it was right when the clock ticked twelve. Such a powerful scene, hands down the BEST ever. Coming to the story- I expected it to be a love triangle and I wasn't wrong, it was one but also so much more! This is a story of friendship, finding true love, self-worth, growth, maturity, pain, profession, Hollywood, fame and its 'side-effects'. These many elements combined in a duet- truly remarkable. The pacing of this book is so good, with enough drama to keep us on the edge of the seats but it's never overdone. All the characters and their actions are very realistic and understandable. Their growth throughout the series is also shown clearly despite which there is no overnight transformation and that's exactly what makes this book so very realistic to me. Now the characters. Firstly, my all time favourite, Wyatt- Kat's viking. I totally fell for him in the first book and still continued to love him in this book. No matter how annoyed he was with her, he always stood by her side when she needed him. His love for her is the purest and the selfless type and the kind of love that I will always vouch for!!!! [ The part where he learns about her pregnancy and actually asks for time, that again was perfect. If he had accepted her without even giving it a second thought, it would seem too perfect and in real life that doesn't actually happen. Julie nailed that part. (hide spoiler)] Grayson was very much Grayson ( You know what I mean, right?) It's not that I disliked him, but he was too much of a man-whore and very immature for me to like him much. In this book, he grows and becomes less of an asshole all thanks to Kat's help and insight. I will say good for him:P Kat. Kat. kat. She is one hell of a fiesty, kickass heroine. Her growth in this book is marvelous. The way she learns from her every mistake and still stays strong, it's totally amazing, The author has completely nailed her character. There is a lot of monologue in the book which paints a perfect picture of her state of mind. Again, applauds to the author for creating such an amazing character and weaving a story around her. Not to forget Harper and Kent Masters. This story is incomplete without them. Harper and Kat share such a strong friendship, I really envy that and I wish I had such a friend. And Kent?! He is PERFECT for Harper!!! I can't believe I am saying this but I think if I have to put a number then, Harper-Kent will come first followed by Wyatt and Kat. This is just my opinion. Kat and Grayson are good too, but I like Wyatt way better. Like I stated earlier, this book is NOT just a love story. It is so much more, a life lesson in so many ways. It's just the beginning of the year and it has set such a high benchmark that it will be very hard for other books to surpass it.

FIVE GLISTENING STARS

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page