top of page

Review Of Author Anonymous


I am a little dazed after reading the book and I am trying to gather my thoughts together to write this review. I am not going to reveal anything about the story as such but just my views and opinions about what worked for me and what didn't. Firstly, this story is very different to say the very least. Though it involves cheating which is not uncommon, the way the story moves forward and the reasons surrounding the same are alluring and that is what truly got me involved in the story. Though many people claim the whole 'based on a real story' is just a marketing gimmick, I somehow think it's not the case. It feels real and E.K Blair has painted an honest picture Tori's ( Victoria's ) character. Her feelings, her actions and her reasoning are believable. It's not like she has even made an attempt to justify to her character or her apparent flaws. It is all laid out there and it is completely upon us to either understand, sympathize with her or just outright hate her. I was kind of neutral towards her up until one point post which I kind of disliked her but didn't actually hate her either. I was feeling sorry for her, that's it. Coming to Alex, he was the most interesting element of this book. He was very different and carried this suspicious yet intriguing vibes. His sexual fetishes were the highlight of this book for me. It was far from vanilla and truly an eye opener for me. Though I had heard their names, through this book I could understand them better. Alex was also very open and upfront about his sexual desires and I liked that about him. What I was actually speculating throughout the book was whether Alex is real or just fake ( spewing tales and lies like Tori's friend Brooke thought ) but until the very end we don't get the right answer for the same. That part though might have worked for some, it left me confused. The epilogue hints at something but still it is not completely clear since I for one have many reasons to doubt him. Coming to Landon, for most of the book I felt sorry for him but then he makes certain statements about Tori's profession that got on my nerves. I am an Indie published author too and can relate to them, but generalizing is taking it too far . There might be some truth to what he said about authors living in their own fantasy and comparing real life people to their fictional world characters but looking down on that and thinking cheap about them is NOT DONE. So yeah, since that point onward, I really didn't care much about him. I know he was hurt and he didn't deserve that kind of betrayal considering he was a nice guy and all but still, I couldn't like him much. Brooke was undoubtedly the best character. A good and supportive friend who tried to put some sense into Tori but it's sad that her allure and attraction towards Alex won against logic and family ties. The Steamy scenes were super HOT. E.K Blair is known to execute such scenes with unbridled and flawless writing and same was the case with this book. Also she has explored the concepts of voyeurism and exhibitionism in this book with the same rawness and I totally loved that. The best part was the 'subspace' one. I learned about it from this book and it gave me a detailed picture. The next shocker was the ending. The final chapter and epilogue completely stole the show. It was gut wrenching, shocking and felt REAL. Though it's not the same, fairy-tale HEA, this felt believable to em and highly possible. Certain things are just beyond our hands no matter how hard we try, and the ENDING proved it. It deserves five stars for the unique story and the way it was presented without any constraints. One has to read it with an open mind, that's all.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page