top of page

Review Of Black Swan Affair


This book was recommended to me by a friend who shares my interest for love triangles. The blurb immediately caught my attention and I put it on my TBR. For me this is mainly the story of Maverick and Kael. Although this is supposed to be a love triangle between Kael, Mavs and Killian my main focus remained on the budding relation between Kael and Mavs. I am not going much into the storyline since the blurb says it all. The story starts post her marriage to Kael which she did just to hurt Killian( her form of revenge and she hated herself more for that since she would be deceiving Kael whom she does love a lot like her best friend). In the beginning parts I really felt sorry for Kael who was so nicely friend zones and then later on got a chance to marry the love of his life. Thankfully I didn't have to feel sorry for him for long. After hearing to her friends logical words, Maverick decided to give her relation with her husband an actual try rather than just wallowing over the betrayal of her first true love. She si clearly attracted to Kael since he ( ahem, ahem) is very hot and she would have to be blind to just ignore the hot goods in front of her. And so she starts with having a very good sex life with her husband and eventually she realized how much he loves her. ( Late realization but at least she realized). Finally she thinks why she can't possibly fall in love with the younger brother who can keep her happy and give her everything she ever wanted. But then Killian is still making his presence felt every time chance he gets and tries to remind her of how she loved him and also leave subtle clues that there is more to it than what's meets her eyes and he still loves her. But Maverick doesn't get his clues and continues to loath him for marrying his vile sister and I can't blame her also because she has got her 'hands' full with Kael which is actually good or so we are made to believe. At this stage I can't help but root for Kael and Maverick. There is more to it though, the book alternates between present, past and flashbacks. So in the present she is in the hospital praying for the life of her beloved- Kael or Killian? ( That's kept a secret till the end) but I figured it out half way through. Plus points about the book- the artistic writing, descriptions totally stand out. The city of DustFalls and their dialect, the tight community have been shown very well. The intimate scenes ( and there are PLENTY) are very hot and totally swoon worthy. One of the best I have read in a long while. what did work for me- there is no angst until the very end that I usually like the most in love triangles. when the secrets are finally revealed in the end, it kind of felt flat for me and even her choice became very evident. The gut wrenching dilemma and drama was missing and in the middle it became boring too since not much was happening in the present. So pacing was a let down. overall it is a well written book and the ending is also good and something I can stand by. I didn't dislike any of the main characters and I did like Kael. So definitely worth a read

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page