top of page

Review Of 93% Chance I Don't Hate You


What a nice, sweet read. The authors were new to me when they asked me for a review and the blurb was too exciting for me to keep it on the TBR for long. Books in my TBR are in the order they are supposed to be read, but the title of the very first chapter of this book won me over and I immediately jumped to it though it was listed to be read later. It’s not something I do often but the fact that this book was an exception says how good it actually is.

There is something about the books that engage you in the very first chapter that you can’t absolutely let go. This book belongs to THAT category. I started reading during my cab drive to the office and by the time I reached, I was forty percent done. It was so good that I kept flipping pages, totally enjoying myself. I even took longer breaks to read this book:p

Coming to the story, Ashton is a final year art student who gets bored of just ‘fucking’ around and decides to try his hands at a real relationship. In his stupor state he tries out a blind dating app and fills out a questionnaire. Carter is the daughter of the owner of Redford Entertainment and is supposedly the next heir of the company. Her parents are the ‘90’s’ type and expect her to behave ‘ladylike’ and ‘classy’ to uplift the name of their family…etc..you got the gist. They are really annoying but being an ideal daughter poor carter puts up with them but when it comes down to her parents arranging a marriage for her to get their own business deal it really irks her and she decides to live life a little before that and upon insistence of her roommate and best friend Jackson, she also decides to try out the blinder (dating app) and guess what? Carter and Ashton have a 93% match. They kind of know each other through their graphic design class but they wouldn’t have spoken much. But in the app they don’t give their ‘actual’ names so they don’t know who the other person is until they actually come face to face in the café and thus their story starts.

It’s a really nice and cute love story. More emphasis is given on Carter’s character though. The way she stands up for herself, goes against her parents, lives life the way she wants – it’s all about her growth. Ashton on the other hand acts more like a support to her who shows her how to actually ‘live’ life the way we want to without having to live up to anyone’s expectations and it all comes down to how people in general perceive the word perfect and what it truly means. As a reader I tend to love books that have more angst and a complicated storyline (with hot and steamy sex), but this book was a good change to me with the storyline and characters kept simple without too much drama. I really wished for more hot scenes between Ashton and Carter and was curious to know how it would play out but that wish of mine wasn’t fulfilled but that’s necessarily a bad thing, it’s just my preference as a reader.

The story seemed very real and relatable. I didn’t like Carter much in the beginning but towards the end I did. Ashton is a sweetheart, kind of a guy who can be liked by any girl. The highlights of the book were their friends/ roommates – Jackson and Sophia. It was a joy to read about them and how supportive they were in getting Carter and Ashton together. I can’t wait for the next book which will hopefully feature them.

On an ending note, what I loved the most about the book was the ending and the final art exhibit made by Ashton. It speaks a lot about his personality and how people in general tend to perceive others around them without actually getting to know them. I loved these aspects of the book rather than the love story as such. I kind of didn’t see great chemistry between them (but that maybe because my most favorite fiction couples have set up a very high standard) but it’s not a letting down factor. The writing flows smoothly and there are no loopholes as such. So overall I would say it’s an entertaining read that will surely put a smile on your face once you are done. Four stars from my end.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page