top of page

Addicted To You


I loooooveeeeee this book. Love to the power of infinity- that’s how much I love this book- It just can’t be quantified. Let me start by saying I have read all the books in the addicted to you/Calloway sister series and this was my re-read of the first book. I didn’t possibly believe that I could like it more than the first time, but I was wrong. Knowing already how everything would play out it in the very end and the whole journey that lies ahead of them, I grew to love it even more. This is the perfect beginning for a long, but totally enthralling life journey of the Calloway sisters.

I don’t usually re-read books no matter how good they are. I tend to get bored knowing how it will play out in the end, but THIS book (along with the book I have written: p ) are the only exceptions. This is hands down my second all-time favorite book/ series (first being my book – Love Connection, I am not being partial here, I wrote it the way I would love it as a reader). My rating for this book is undoubtedly nine on ten (ten is reserved for two books in the whole series – Addicted Afterall and Kiss the sky). It is truly deserving of that. A big bow to Krista and Becca Ritchie for coming up with such an amazing series with realistic characters and a very engaging, emotions evoking, unforgettable story.

Now coming to the review of Addicted to you, as the blurb states, this is the story of two addicts – Lily and Lo. Lo is an alcohol addict and Lily, a sex addict. That by itself is a very promising set up for a story. It is not easy to write stories about sensitive issues like addictions (especially sex addiction, without making the person in question turn out like a slut) but they have handled the issue very carefully making us empathize with both Lily and Lo. Since it’s completely told from Lily’s pov, we can understand what goes on in her mind, but when it comes to Lo, it’s harder. I really wish this book had Lo’s pov too. Then I would have definitely given it ten stars.

Coming back to the story, Lily and Lo try to hide their respective addictions by helping one another (since they have been inseparable since childhood and understand each other extremely well) and pretend to be in a relationship. They live together and distance themselves from their families to live life ‘their way’ (feeding their addictions) without any interference from their families. Coming to Lily, she has an amazing family (in reference to her sisters, I want to exclude her mother at this point of time, dad, in this book, we can’t say much) and Loren….bad. Ugh. I will leave it at that for now, since I don’t want to rattle about Jonathan Hale just yet. Then they realize they are very much in love with one another and decide to give relationship a try. It’s very hard for both of them. Loren has to stay sober to satisfy Lily while she should limit herself only to him. The rest of the story deals with whether or not they succeed, how Connor and Ryke affect the balance of their secluded life and most importantly how they fight against their addictions to be one another.

Now comes my most favorite part – the characters. I have read a lot of books but have never come across anyone like Lily before. She is shy, timid and gets embarrassed very easily. She is really nice but her sex addiction stops her from having a normal, healthy life. The authors have done complete justice to her character by showing insights into her head and the way she craves sex. It is very realistic and also appealing. She actually comes off as being funny at times though she wouldn’t be going for it. Loren Hale is also one of a kind. He can be really mean and rude at times, but I kind of like that attitude of his. His love for Lily though is palpable. I especially love his banters with Rose. It’s too comical. Lily and Lo together form an adorable couple (though my top favorite couple will always be Rose and Connor). Rose, Connor and Ryke act like secondary characters in this book. They add the necessary elements to make this book entertaining. Especially Connor and his smart mouth, and how Lily keeps counting the number of times he has indicated that she is quite dumb. It’s very funny. Rose is the elder sister who always looks out for her sister and Ryke, let’s say he is fulfilling his responsibilities that he should have taken up long back (I will leave it at that.) There is not much about Lily’s youngest sister Daisy in this book.

Story vise it has everything that makes a book a good read-A unique story, engaging characters, hot sex and intense love. What I loved the most about this book is that it feels real. There is no unnecessary and over the top drama, nor too much cheesy dialogue. After reading all the ten books, I actually consider these characters as a part of my own extended family. They are that realistic and flawed. But nevertheless they all have their own merits and we do end up loving them all. For all the romance readers, this series should definitely not be missed at ANY COST. I am truly happy that I got a chance to start this series because it is unforgettable and will forever remain one of my most favorite series.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page