top of page

Review Of Pretty Stolen Dolls


Holy Fuck. What did I just read? I really should not be surprised considering who it is coming from but still the way K. Webster manages to totally fuck with my mind, completely astonishes me.

THIS IS DARK. I really didn't believe things could get any darker than the stuff I read in This Isn't Over, Baby, but boy! Was I proven wrong. I don't know how her brain brews such nasty, torturous theme and ideas, but truly hats off!!!!! This books opens up the world of a sick, twisted man and this tale is about his pretty, dirty, stolen dolls.

So to dive a little into the story. Jade and her sister are kidnapped by a man names Benny ( Benjamin) who sells dolls in a fair. Jade is fourteen when this happens and for four long years, Jade and Macy suffer extreme torture and sick abuse at the hands of their abductor. Jade finally makes her escape nearly escaping death but fails to save Macy. Benny disappears without a trace and despite her best efforts, Jade doesn't find him. In an attempt to catch Benny when he does resurface and to protect other girls from similar abductors, Jade turns detective. Her boyfriend Boe is very supportive of her choices but tells her time and again, to let go of her past. Jade on the other hand, can't get Benny out of her thoughts and mind and all she seeks is revenge. A new case of a missing girl of age nineteen arises and it puts Jade on edge since the case reminds her a lot of the way Benny operates . With detective Dillion by her side, the cat and mouse chase starts and Jade vows to make Benny pay and get back her sister.

Like a true thriller this book kept me on edge and made me flip pages faster than I had ever done before. I desperately tried to outsmart K Webster for once by figuring out where the story was headed, and I kind of succeeded and I kind of didn't. But, I am happy that I could penetrate a little into her dark, twisted mind. There is a BIG shocker towards the end and it really shook me. I didn't see that coming at all and she totally played me. I really want to keep my mouth shut now because anything more I say at this point will act as a big SPOILER and I really don't want to spoil this book for anyone.

Now coming to the area Ms Webster and Ms Dukey are experts in - The DARK Parts. I really wish there was a superlative to the word DARKEST, because this was the creepy, nerve whacking, blood chilling kind of dark and it scared the crap out of me. Despite which I totally loved reading it. That's the whole point of a dark book after all. The darkness totally engulfs you and blows your mind but you kind of get addicted to it and crave for more. I might sound strange accepting it, but their writing totally pulled me into the scenes and I actually enjoyed reading it. Even the sex parts, both the consenual and non-consensual parts are extremely HOT

Though the story is set in the present, many present day events triggers memories for Jade that gives us snippets of the kind of torture endured by her and her sister at Benny's hands. It is a very clever way to deal with the past incidents without making them overbearing. But the only problem I had is, they were not in any proper time frame and crept up at random times without following any order. So at times I was left confused at to which incident with Benny happened first, but then again it doesn't impact the overall story.

Though the ending is technically not a cliff hanger, it will leave us craving to get our hands on the next book which is the final book in the series. I really can't wait for long but thankfully the link to preorder is already available, so pretty soon the second book will be released as well.

If you are a fan of Dark Romance then this is a MUST READ. Five fucking stars.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page