top of page

No Kiss Goodbye


This book is a perfect example of a psychological thriller and I read one after a really long time. I had been totally into romance the past few months and this book was the right kind of change I wanted. The last book in this genre that I had read was Blue Hill Blood and that book gave me a huge hangover to recover from and this book too led me to a similar hangover but it was the kind of hangover I saw coming even in the earlier stages in the book and I welcomed it, gracing myself for final blow and I must say that it did deliver and lived up to all my expectations. It totally fucked with my mind and that's exactly what I wanted. The kind of thriller which plays a dirty game with your mind and takes you by total shock is what I totally love and this book had all those elements.

I have read lot of books in this genre and I can usually guess the climax or the whole 'mystery'element halfway through the book but in the case of this book, I could guess only forty percent of it and that's why I can proudly say that this book totally impressed me and I am really not exaggerating.Towards the end, there were many twists lined up, that kept hitting me on the face one after the other and THAT is what a thriller should be all about and it is highly commendable.

Now, coming to the story, again I really can't say much because the story unfolds with every chapter but as a overview this is how I can summarize :

Laura is a mother of two kids and has a loving husband, Mark. Ava is her childhood friend and they are extremely close. Then there is a horrific accident and Laura loses her ability to walk and kind of loses her memory. She has many blackouts, snippets of memories that she has forgotten and comes to the conclusion that her husband might be having an affair and is attempting to kill her. So she makes a run for it with help of her friend, Ava.

And now my lips are sealed. I can't reveal any more details. You all should experience the shock ride like I did. In fact, this was so damn addictive that I had my kindle open and in front of my laptop screen while I was attending a training lecture in my office. I am usually quite attentive in training, but this book made me forget everything else and kept me glued to every page.

The best part is the ending. Of course the climax is gripping and will leave you all in awe, but more than that, what truly stood out to me was the note on which it ended. It is totally unique and does hundred percent justice to the story. Not every story has a perfect, happily ever after kind of ending. I am not indicating that this story is a tragedy, it is just different and kind of perfect.

All good things said, as a critic I have to point out few of the flaws too. This book needed more editing, there are tense changes within a paragraph and it happens quite a lot. And also the story keeps alternating between past and present so it's kind of hard to follow at times. There are sudden shifts in the scene and I had to reread certain paragraphs to get a good flow. Though these flaws are hard to oversee, don't let it spoil your interest. This story truly is a MUST READ.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page