top of page

Review Of This Isn't Over, Baby

Calling this book crazy is an understatement. It totally FUCKED with my mind and again the author threw me by surprise because THIS was so not what I had in mind!!

K. A Webster has this uncanny ability to surprise readers with every new book of hers though we would all be expecting some really dark stuff in the first place!! Seeing from that perspective, kudos to the author! She really takes DARK to an all knew level. It's really beyond me! But then again if I see this book as the third installment in the war and peace series, then I was disappointed. The 'dark' stuff( I don't want to spoil it by describing the scenes) were very well written. It was raw, honest and crass writing and as always I loved the style.

The dark stuff alone couldn't save this book for me. It was packed with surprise elements and really hot sex but it lacked in the story part.

The story was too messed up and the book seemed to be disconnected from the first two books. It felt like it was set in a different universe all together except for Gabe, he seemed the same to me. But both Baylee and War seemed to have changed a lot and I can't say why either because there was not much 'book' space given to them. This book was supposed to be Gabe's story but it was more about the psycho Hannah and how Gabe handles her in his own fucked up psychotic way. That by itself was a spoiler and I don't regret revealing it. It becomes evident in the first chapter itself and as the story progress we learn more about her dark sides.( 80% into the book and I had doubts whether she even had a good side!) It so didn't add up for me.

Baylee and War are really good people. Though she believes that between nature and nurture, nature always wins, that still doesn't explain why she was born evil!! I can agree that she might have some psychological issues considering what both War and Baylee have been through but the way she turned out to be it seemed more likely that she is Gabe's daughter but it was pretty much clarified in the second book that she is in fact War's daughter. Author does mention that she is more like War's mother who was also kind of mad, but since we don't know much about her, I can't blindly go by that justification. But if we look beyond these flaws and read it more like a standalone book with Hannah and Gabe as the lead characters then it's enjoyable and worth a read for those who love REALLY dark stuff!! There is also a next book coming up which continues their story and also has another character in this book taking a prominent role. I hope that book lives to the expectations set by its predecessors.

Four stars from my end.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page