top of page

Review of Solitary

This book was one of the finest books of the year for me. I am really shocked that this book is the debut book from the author. Her writing just flows so smoothly. It's different from the kind of books i read but that's what is unique about her style and I totally love it. I so wish I could write like that!! Now coming to the story, I really don't want to add anything to the blurb and spoil it. The book is so fast paced that with every page I flipped, something out of the blue happened that left me gawking and asking for more. This book is a bundle of some good action and HUMOR. If i had to put a label to it, i would go with action comedy and it's a rare find. The main protagonist is Paige. Her family and friends were killed by the hands of her ex-boyfriend David who happens to be a big goon. He has been after her life for many years now and so far Paige has managed to escape unscathed. But this story is not about her struggle and pain, it's all about survival. Danger still lingers on Paige's head twenty four into seven and this is a story about her strength, her escapes and her morals. It also shows how much a person can change when pushed into survival mode and how the guilt of one's actions is crushed by the need to live. There are four really hot men who work in the same profession and I couldn't help but fall for them. (I am not including David in this list, because so far I really hate him for all the deaths he has caused and there is nothing to like in him. But I can never tell, the author has it in her to make me fall for the BAD guys and i might end up falling for him in the sequel. Possibility definitely exists). Now coming to the other guys, did i mention they are really really HOT? They are so different from one another yet kind of similar. The BAD guys who look even more hot with a gun in their hand and murderous look in their eyes. My personal favourite is Sean. Fell in love with the guy after his first encounter with Paige and fell more for him in the last few chapters. Noah was a more complex character for me. I could never love him too much because I always felt that he was hiding something and I am kind of glad that my hunch came out to be true!! I never liked Andrew much especially in the beginning. I found him annoying and cocky but towards the end, he won my heart. I have to mention Hannah as well. She is something else. I honestly love her more than Paige. I really hope that there is a separate book for her. I would really love to read more about her. Finally moving on to Paige, I kind of liked her and I didn't also. To be very honest, I totally loved her in the beginning. I saw her as a fighter. She was smart, agile and knew how to pack a punch. But towards the end, I was really pissed with her. I get she has been through a lot, and couldn't trust anyone but she took her doubts and anger to a whole new level. She hated being bossed around and let her anger take over on so many occasions . It led to bigger troubles for her. I really had problems with her trust issues, if only she could trust more and think more logically, I believe it would have saved her a lot of trouble. That being said and done, I liked everything else about the story. There are so many layers to the characters which is unveiled as the story progresses. Though the story deals with a heavy subject matter, it is interlaced with dry humor that actually cracked me up. So overall it was a fun and fast paced read. I loved it a lot a lot a lot and can't wait to read the sequel which thankfully is already published.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page